Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Micro- and macrorheology of surfactants, polymer solutions, networks and hydrogels

Micro- and macrorheology of surfactants, polymer solutions, networks and hydrogels
Contact:Claude Oelschlaeger

Originally developed for biophysical research, optical methods such as video microscopy, Diffusing Wave Spectroscopy (DWS) nowadays are more and more used to determine viscoelastic properties of various kinds of complex fluids. The basic idea of optical microrheology is to study the equilibrium thermal response of small (colloidal) particles embedded in a material and thereby obtain quantitative information about the macroscopic storage and loss moduli, G´(ω) and G´´(ω).

DWS is a fast and powerful technique working without external driving force and able to measure viscoelastic properties of transparent fluid over an extended range of frequencies (0.001-100 kHz)

DWS possibilities and limits are validated in our group in comparing systematically results with a mechanical high frequency rheology technique. DWS has been successfully used for the investigation of viscoelastic characteristics of semiflexible polymers and selfassembled structures. We succeeded for the first time to determine the bending stiffness of semiflexible micellar solutions from rheological measurements. DWS has also been successfully applied to study local structural variations or high frequency relaxation processes e.g. in polymeric thickeners, protein solutions, starch composites, clay suspensions, highly concentrated polymer dispersions and intermediate filament networks.

The principle of video microscopy consists of monitoring the thermally driven motion of inert microspheres that are evenly distributed within the solutions and to statistically analyze the distribution of mean square displacements, from which information about the extent of heterogeneity and rheological properties can be extracted. This technique has been used for the characterization of inhomogeneous polymer solutions, human tracheal mucus, DNA hydrogels, thermosensitive resin systems and supramolecular hydrogels.

Recently, we focused on biopolymers like hyaluronic acid (HA) solutions and developed a novel strategy to fabricate porous HA-copolymer hydrogels including collagen or chitosan aiming at their application in tissue engineering. Using Multiple Particle Tracking (MPT), viscoelastic properties of the gels can be determined locally at the site of cell attachment and latter can be correlated to the cell growth. Such substrates are developed in cooperation with Prof. Bastmeyer (KIT) for the growth and proliferation of skin cells.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Mikro- und Makrorheologie von Tensid- und Polymerlösungen, Polymernetzwerken und Hydrogelen

Mikro- und Makrorheologie von Tensid- und Polymerlösungen, Polymernetzwerken und Hydrogelen
Ansprechpartner:Claude Oelschlaeger

In den letzten Jahren haben sich insbesondere im Bereich der Biophysik optische Methoden wie Videomikroskopie, Diffusing Wave Spectroscopy (DWS) oder optische Pinzetten zur Bestimmung viskoelastischer Eigenschaften komplexer Fluide etabliert. Die theoretische Basis bilden verallgemeinerte Stokes-Einstein-Beziehungen, die es erlauben aus der Diffusion von intrinsisch vorhandenen oder Tracer-Partikeln die Moduln G’ und G’’ zu bestimmen.

Die DWS ist eine schnelle, zerstörungsfreie Methode um G’ und G’’ für transparente oder leicht trübe Fluide in einem weiten Frequenzbereich (0.001- 100 kHz) zu bestimmen.

Mit Hilfe der in der Arbeitsgruppe vorhandenen komplementären Methoden der mechanischen Hochfrequenz-Rheologie werden Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der DWS validiert. Die DWS wird erfolgreich zur Untersuchung der viskoelastischen Eigenschaften semiflexibler Polymere und selbstaggregierender Strukturen eingesetzt. Es ist erstmals gelungen, die Biegefestigkeit semiflexibler Tensidmizellen rheologisch zu bestimmen. Diese Methode wird auch erfolgreich angewendet, um lokale strukturelle Variationen oder Hochfrequenz-Relaxationsprozesse in Proteinlösungen, Stärkekompositen, Tonmineralsuspensionen, hochkonzentrierten Polymerdispersionen, oder Intermediärfilament-Netzwerken zu untersuchen.

Die Video-Mikroskopie bietet die Möglichkeit über die Bestimmung der mittleren Verschiebungsquadrate unterschiedlicher Partikel rheologische Eigenschaften ortsaufgelöst auf mikroskopischer Ebene zu erfassen. Diese Methode wurde zur Charakterisierung inhomogener Polymerlösungen, menschlichen Trachealschleims, DNA-Hydrogelen, thermosensitiven Systemen und supramolekulare Hydrogelen verwendet.

Kürzlich haben wir auch ein innovatives Konzept für die Herstellung poröser Hydrogele entwickelt und erforschen nun deren Eignung im Bereich Tissue-Engineering. Mit Hilfe Multiple Particle Tracking (MPT) können die viskoelastischen Eigenschaften der Gele lokal am Ort der Zellanlagerung bestimmt und so deren Einfluss auf das Zellwachstum untersucht werden. In Kooperation mit Prof. Bastmeyer (KIT) sollen so Substrate für Wachstum und Vermehrung von Hautzellen entwickelt werden