Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Julia Thieringer, M.Sc.

Julia Thieringer, M.Sc.

Research Associate
Rearrangement of particle structures in cross-flow filters
Group: 

Gas Particle Systems (GPS)


Room: 109
CS 30.70

Phone: +49 721 608-46573
julia thieringerVel3∂kit edu

Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Geb. 30.70
Straße am Forum 8
D-76131 Karlsruhe



Research Topic

Formation mechanisms of particle structures and their rearrangement in cross-flow filters for gas purification

Cross-flow filtration has been used for several decades to separate particles from engine exhaust gases. Due to the stricter regulations of particle emissions, cross-flow filters are used in mobile applications (such as diesel engine commercial vehicles and passenger cars) but also in ships, gasoline engines, biogas and waste incineration plants.

The principle of the cross-flow filtration is based on a parallel overflow through the filter medium. During this process, particles are deposited on the filter surface as well as in the pores of the filter. This results in a better separation efficiency, but also in an increase of pressure drop and energy consumption. The emerging particle layer can break during the filtration process or rather the regeneration of the filter and can lead to rearrangement processes of the particles and agglomerates on the filter media. These rearrangement processes are dependent on a number of process-engineering parameters such as the inflow velocity, temperature and loading. During engine combustion, a heterogeneous particulate system is formed from inert (inorganic) and reactive (organic) components. This mixed system shows a different rearrangement behaviour as a homogeneous particulate system.

The objective of this project is to analyse the formation mechanisms and rearrangements of heterogeneous particulate systems in cross-flow filtration processes. Thereby the formation mechanisms during aerosol generation as well as the global rearrangement processes on the filter wall will be investigated in connection with process-engineering parameters and filter properties.

 

 

                        

 

                         Possible rearrangement processes of inert-reactive particle systems, according to Sappok et al.

 

Bachelor and Master Theses
title type time
Bachelor or Master Thesis upon agreement


Conference Contributions
Title Conference Authors

FILTECH 2019 - The Filtration Event

J. Thieringer, H. Werling, J. Meyer, A. Dittler

PARTEC 2019

J. Thieringer, J. Meyer, A. Dittler

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Julia Thieringer, M.Sc.

Julia Thieringer, M.Sc.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin
Umlagerungsvorgänge von Partikelschichten
Gruppe: 

Gas-Partikel-Systeme (GPS)


Raum: 109
CS 30.70

Tel.: +49 721 608-46573
julia thieringerAdx2∂kit edu

Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)
Geb. 30.70
Straße am Forum 8
D-76131 Karlsruhe



Forschungsthema

Entstehungsmechanismen von Partikelstrukturen und deren Umlagerung in Querstromfiltern zur Gasreinigung

Die Querstromfiltration (Cross-Flow) wird schon seit einigen Jahrzehnten für die Abscheidung von Partikeln aus motorischen Abgasen verwendet. Durch sich immer wieder verschärfende Grenzwerte von Partikelemissionen finden diese Filter in mobilen Anwendungen (wie dieselmotorische Nutzfahrzeuge und Personenkraftwagen), aber auch in Schiffen, Ottomotoren und bei Biogas- und Müllverbrennungsanlagen immer neue Einsatzmöglichkeiten.

Das Prinzip des Querstromfilters basiert auf der parallelen Überströmung des Filtermaterials. Während dieses Vorgangs lagern sich Partikel auf der Filteroberfläche, sowie in den Poren des Filters ab. Daraus resultiert ein besserer Abscheidegrad, jedoch auch ein Anstieg des Druckverlustes, sowie ein erhöhter Energiebedarf. Die entstehende Partikelschicht kann während des Filtrationsvorgangs bzw. der Regeneration des Filters aufbrechen und zu Umlagerungsvorgängen der Partikel und Agglomeraten auf dem Filtermaterial führen. Diese Umlagerungsvorgänge sind von einigen verfahrenstechnischen Betriebsparametern, wie der Anströmgeschwindigkeit, Temperatur und Beladung, abhängig. Bei einer motorischen Verbrennung fällt ein heterogenes Partikelsystem aus inerten (anorganischen) und reaktiven (organischen) Komponenten an. Dieses Mischsystem weist ein verändertes Umlagerungsverhalten als ein homogenes Partikelsystem auf.

Das Ziel des Forschungsprojektes ist die Entstehungsmechanismen von heterogenen Partikelstrukturen und deren Umlagerung in Querstromfiltern zu analysieren. Dabei werden die Entstehungsmechanismen bei der Aerosolgenerierung, sowie die globalen Umlagerungsvorgänge auf der Filterfläche im Zusammenhang mit verfahrenstechnischen Parametern und Filtereigenschaften untersucht.

 

 

                        

 

                         Mögliche Umlagerungsvorgänge von inert-reaktiven Partikelsystemen, nach Sappok et al.

 

Zu vergebende Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten
Titel Typ Datum


Konferenzbeiträge
Titel Tagung Autoren

PARTEC 2019

J. Thieringer, J. Meyer, A. Dittler