Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

History

The Institute for Mechanical Process Engineering was founded in 1957 and its first chair was held by  Dr.-Ing. Hans Rumpf. Initially, the institute belonged to the department for Mechanical Engineering. In 1962 the institute moved into its own newly contructed building (30.70). In 1967 the institute became part of the newly founded  Department for Chemical Process Engineering. Finally, in 1980 the Institute for Mechanical Process Engineering and the Institute for Technical Mechanics merged into the present Institute, Mechanical Process Engineering and Mechanics, short MVM. 

Present

Central fields of activity are processes in disperse systems (particle tecniques in liquid and gasborne solid and droplet systems), rheological procedures in complex formulations as well as the respective measurement techniques.

The institute comprises 3 chairs: Applied Mechanics (AM), Gas Particle Systems (GPS) and Process Maschines(VM).

Our staff members are accommodated in four separate buildings (for details consult the pages of the different groups or the staff pages). The institute owns a comprehensive infrastructure in the domain of particle measurement technics and offers its services to the whole university and to the industry.

Together with 3 further institutions, the institute supports a laboratory for magnetic resonance imaging, which deals with the application of magnetic resonance imaging in engineering today.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Geschichtliches

Der Lehrstuhl und das Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik wurden 1957 gegründet; den Ruf als erster Institutsleiter erhielt Dr.-Ing. Hans Rumpf. Das Institut gehörte zunächst der Abteilung Maschinenbau in der Fakultät für Maschinenwesen an. Im Jahre 1962 wurde ein eigenes Institutsgebäude (30.70) bezogen. Seit 1967 gehört das Institut zur neugegründeten Fakultät für Chemieingenieurwesen. 1980 vereinigten sich das Institut für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und das Institut für Technische Mechanik und Festigkeitslehre zu dem heutigen Institut, das die Kurzbezeichnung MVM - Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik - führt.

Aktuelles

Zentrale Arbeitsgebiete des Institutes für Mechanische Verfahrenstechnik und Mechanik (MVM) sind Prozesse in dispersen Systemen (Partikeltechnik in flüssigkeits-  und gasgetragenen Feststoff- und Tröpfchen-Systemen), Rheologische Vorgänge in komplexen Formulierungen sowie jeweils zugehörige Meßtechniken.

Zur Zeit besteht das Institut aus 3 Lehrstühlen, den Bereichen Angewandte Mechanik (AM), Gas-Partikel-Systeme (GPS) und Verfahrenstechnische Maschinen (VM).

Räumlich sind die Mitarbeiter des Instituts auf vier Gebäude verteilt (näheres auf den Seiten der Arbeitsgruppen bzw. der Mitarbeiter).

Das Institut besitzt eine umfassende Infrastruktur im Bereich Partikelmeßtechnik, die zum Teil für das gesamte Campus Süd des KIT sowie für externe Aufträge aus der Industrie Serviceleistungen zur Verfügung stellt.

Das Institut trägt, zusammen mit 3 weiten Einrichtungen, ein Labor für Kernspintomographie, das sich mit der Anwendung der Kernspintomographie in den Ingenieurwissenschaften beschäftigt.